Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Chamber News

LRCC announces Community Service, Outstanding Small Business and Legacy Award recipients

Wednesday, January 18, 2017  
Share |

LRCC to honor Blue Ribbon Committee to Keep GM task force with Community Service Pioneer Award at 105th Annual Dinner

The Lansing Regional Chamber of Commerce (LRCC) has announced the winners of three major annual awards, which will be presented at the Chamber’s upcoming Annual Dinner. In addition, the Chamber will also make a special presentation of its prestigious Community Service Pioneer award which has only been presented five times in the 115 year history of the organization. The 2016 award recipients include:

  • Paula Cunningham, Community Service Award
  • Triterra, Outstanding Small Business Award
  • Lyman & Sheets Insurance Agency, Legacy Award
  • Community Service Pioneer Award, Blue Ribbon Committee to Keep GM

These exceptional regional business leaders and their organizations will be recognized for their accomplishments at the 105th Annual Dinner held on Thursday, February 16.

Paula Cunningham is one of Greater Lansing’s most recognized and successful business minds, leader and community servant. Paula serves as State Director for AARP in Michigan. Prior to her appointment, Cunningham courageously and successfully guided Capital National Bank through a stubborn economy as CEO beginning in 2006. In addition to these distinguished positions, Paula guided Lansing Community College as their President for six years where she successfully led a community millage campaign to generate an additional $9 million annually for the institution into perpetuity. The new Administration Building was named in her honor after she implemented an aggressive facilities master plan, which resulted in five new buildings in five years and increased faculty salaries. She is the only female in downtown Lansing with a building named after her. Paula has served with distinction on numerous community boards and currently serves on the boards of McLaren Health Systems, Davenport University, Children’s Leadership Council of Michigan, Greater Lansing Food Bank Empty Plate Board and the City of Lansing’s Financial Health Team. She was honored with the ATHENA Leadership award in 2005 and is a member of the Michigan Women’s Hall of Fame.

Triterra was formed in October 2008 by Alan Hooper and Don McNabb. Triterra was established as a professional environmental consulting firm that specialized in brownfield development, environmental consulting, and natural resource management services. Over the initial three years, and despite the tough economic conditions, Triterra experienced an approximate 20 percent annual growth rate, which exceeded their expectations. McNabb has guided the company the past three years as CEO and principal scientist. Since 2012, Triterra’s yearly revenue has significantly increased (345 percent), which includes a 39 percent increase from 2014 to 2015 and a 54 percent increase from 2015 to 2016. Additionally, in 2016, Triterra’s growth resulted in moving from their small office in Old Town to a much larger (and spacious) office in REO Town. Triterra also remains in full growth mode, with plans to open one or more small office locations in Michigan in 2017.

Lyman & Sheets Insurance Agency will be honored with the Chamber Legacy Award in recognition of having been a loyal Chamber member since 1954. Lyman & Sheets was formed in Michigan by the state’s first insurance commissioner in 1874. Lyman & Sheets provides a broad choice of insurance products to clients in all 50 states and abroad. The company has grown steadily through the years, helping clients prepare for the unexpected with the right types of products including business insurance, personal insurance, risk management and employee benefits. Being named Legacy Award winner is special because the 22 employees at the firm are firmly committed to the Lansing region and recognize it as a great place to live and work.

The Community Service Pioneer Award is being presented to the Blue Ribbon Committee to Keep GM. This coalition of community and business leaders was responsible for efforts to save General Motors presence in the Greater Lansing region in the 1990s. Not only were the heroic efforts successful in keeping GM in Lansing, the automaker eventually invested billions of dollars to renovate the Lansing Grand River assembly plant and construct the new Lansing Delta Township production plant. Today, those plants are the most advanced, state-of-the-art auto manufacturing facilities in the world, and produce some of General Motors best- selling vehicles. Representing the Blue Ribbon Committee to Keep GM at the Annual Dinner will be former Lansing Mayor David Hollister, along with task force member Jack Davis, who was chair of the Lansing Regional Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, and task force member Ray Tadgerson. There have only been five previous winners of the Community Service Pioneer award, all of which were honored in 1984. They are: W.K. Prudden, R.E. Olds, George Washington Peck (Lansing’s first Postmaster and former Mayor), Francis J. Carr, and Charles A. Davis.

To purchase tickets for Annual Dinner, click hereSponsorship opportunities for Annual Dinner are available by contacting Travis Richardson at 517-853-6463 or


This Month's E-Chamber Connect Sponsors

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal