Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Member News

Winners Announced For Seventh Annual MSUFCU Student Art Exhibit

Monday, March 3, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Michelle Rahl
Share |

Winners Announced For Seventh Annual MSUFCU Student Art Exhibit

EAST LANSING —Michigan State University Federal Credit Union (MSUFCU) announced the winners of the Seventh Annual Student Art Exhibit and honored all who competed at a special ceremony at MSUFCU headquarters on Sunday, March 2.

“I’m honored to be a part of such a program that encourages local high school students to challenge their artistic abilities,” said April Clobes, executive vice president and chief operating officer at MSUFCU. “We’re so excited to be able to recognize these talented young people for their hard work and dedication.”

The exhibit included three segments of awards for the student artists. The Juried Awards were determined by a panel of three local art experts. The People’s Choice Awards were determined by votes from the public, cast both in-person at the MSUFCU headquarters and online at the exhibit’s website, The final segment, the Social Media Award, was awarded to the student who gained the most “likes” on the exhibit’s Facebook page.

First place in the Juried award category went to Kierstynn Holman from Webberville High School. Second place was awarded to Ian Campa of Haslett High School. Third place went to Dane Porter of Lansing Christian High School.

Juried Honorable Mentions were: Dominic Knisely, Grand Ledge High School; Hanlon Daughtery-Clifford, Waverly High School; Anai Montalvo, Everett High School; Alexis McCarrick, St. Johns High School; Hannah Jones, St. Johns High School; Vincent Sparling, Waverly High School; Mia McPherson, East Lansing High School; Kaitlin Houghton, Mason High School; Danielle Reinhart, Grand Ledge High School and Erica Bartlett, Mason High School.

The People’s Choice Award winners all came from Lansing Christian High School. The first place winner was Dane Porter; second place was Rebecca Hull and third place was Nikki Rakestraw. The Social Media Award was won by Jared Eberly from Webberville High School. This year more than 9,000 votes were cast online and at MSUFCU Headquarters.

First place winners won $300, second place $200 and third place $100; the Social Media winner was awarded $50 and honorable mentions received $25 each. In addition to the individual awards for the students’ work, the School Spirit Award was given to the school that received the most votes. This year, the award went to Lansing Christian High School.

The MSUFCU Student Art Exhibit featured the artwork of students from 13 Greater Lansing high schools from Feb. 1 to March 2. To learn more about all of this year’s exhibit winners, and to view the artwork, visit

This Month's E-Chamber Connect Sponsors

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal