Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Member News

ASU Group Announces Board of Directors

Monday, January 4, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Michelle Rahl
Share |

The ASU Group, an employee owned corporation that provides services to the insurance industry and self-insured organizations, held its annual meeting on December 10, 2015 at their corporate office in Okemos, Michigan.  It is pleased to announce their election results.


The 2016 Board of Directors is as follows:


  • Tara O'Connor LaRose - former President of ASU from 2003 to 2011 and Chairman since 2011.
  • Kim Pavlik - board member since 2000.  Pavlik is a founding member and partner of the firm Andrews Hooper Pavlik  (AHP -CPA’s and Advisors)
  • Debra Claeys - President and CEO since 2011. Joined ASU in 1999 and has served in various management positions within the organization.
  • David Hop - Senior Vice President at Van Wyk Risk and Financial Management in Grand Rapids, MI
  • Cory Gergar – Chief Financial Officer at JRB Enterprises / Duro-Last Roofing, Inc. in Saginaw, MI
  • Thomas R. Johnson – Retired partner from McGladrey, LLP CPA firm. He served as partner in charge of the firm’s Madison, WI office.


The following individuals were elected as officers of the corporation for 2016:

  • Debra Claeys, President
  • Sarah Hartman, Treasurer/Secretary
  • Tara O'Connor LaRose, Chairman
  • David Hop, Vice Chairman


The Board appointed the following to the ESOP (Employee Stock Ownership Plan) Fiduciary Committee:

  • Debra Claeys - Chair
  • Audrey Pike
  • Chad Johnson


The Board elected the following as ESOP TrusteesSarah Hartman and Michael C. Brown


The following individuals were appointed to the ESOP Advisory Committee: Theresa Cooper- Chair, Julie Somes, Kristine Spangler and Kimberlee Hanes.

This Month's E-Chamber Connect Sponsors

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal