Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Member News

Winners Announced for Ninth Annual MSUFCU Student Art Exhibit

Wednesday, March 2, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Eric Dimoff
Share |

Michigan State University Federal Credit Union (MSUFCU) announced the winners of the Ninth Annual Student Art Exhibit and honored all who competed at a special ceremony at MSUFCU Headquarters on Sunday, Feb. 28, 2016.

“I continue to be amazed by the exceptional talent and ambition of our local high school students,” said April Clobes, president and CEO at MSUFCU. “We’re so proud that we can help them to achieve their dreams.”

The exhibit included three segments of awards for the student artists. The Juried Awards were determined by a panel of three local art experts. The People’s Choice Awards were determined by votes from the public, cast both in-person at the MSUFCU Headquarters and online at the exhibit’s website, The final segment, the Social Media Award, was awarded to the student who gained the most “likes” on the exhibit’s Facebook page.

First place in the Juried Award category went to Yiduo Wen from Lansing Christian High School. Second place was awarded to Montgomery Smith from East Lansing High School and third place went to Mark VanOstran from St. Johns High School.

Juried Honorable Mentions were: Laura Ganong, Lansing Christian High School; Sarah Garrod, Haslett High School; Kendall Luberto, Okemos High School; Hannah Meyers, Lansing Christian High School; Rozlin Opolka, Fowlerville High School; Elise Ostrander, DeWitt High School; Sisco Sanchez-Castillo, Grand Ledge High School; Michaela Stock, Lansing Christian High School; Priscilla Walsh, Fowlerville High School; and Yiduo Wen, Lansing Christian High School.

The People’s Choice Award winners were: The first place winner was Bailey Yonkman, DeWitt High School; second place was Deborah Cordill, Lansing Christian High School and third place went to Elise Ostrander, DeWitt High School. The Social Media Award winner was a three-way tie: Deborah Cordill, Lansing Christian High School; Sarah Garrod, Haslett High School; and Savannah “jing” Sojourn, East Lansing High School. This year more than 10,000 votes were cast online and at MSUFCU Headquarters.

First place winners won $300, second place $200 and third place $100; the Social Media winner was awarded $50 and honorable mentions received $25 each. In addition to the individual awards, the School Spirit Award was given to the school that was most represented in the voting online and in person. This year, the award went to Lansing Christian High School.

The MSUFCU Student Art Exhibit featured the artwork of students from 15 Lansing metro high schools from Feb. 1 to 24. To learn more about all of this year’s exhibit winners, and to view the artwork, visit


This Month's E-Chamber Connect Sponsors

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal