Skip to content

Candidates endorsed by the Lansing Regional Chamber of Commerce Political Action Committee (LRC-PAC) scored big wins during the August 2 primary election. 90% of LRC-PAC endorsed candidates have successfully advanced to the November General Election.

“Our first-round endorsements for this election cycle were for those who were willing to work collaboratively to identify and implement innovative strategies to help local and state government deal with the complex issues they are facing,” said Kevin Shaw, chair, LRC-PAC. “It is gratifying to see that voters have expressed confidence in these outstanding leaders and their willingness to embrace the issues voters have identified as most important in their community.”

“In these uncertain times, voters certainty made it clear that experience and effective leadership matters,” said Steve Japinga, vice president of public affairs, Lansing Regional Chamber of Commerce. “Tuesday’s Primary results are a step in the right direction for our region. Now, it is on to November.”

The bipartisan list LRC-PAC endorsed candidates that secured victory in the Primary Election include:

State Senate

  • 21st District: Sarah Anthony (D)
  • 28th District: Sam Singh (D)

State House of Representatives

  • 71st District: Brian BeGole (R)
  • 73rd District: Julie Brixie (D)
  • 74th District: Kara Hope (D)
  • 76th District: Angela Witwer (D)
  • 93rd District: Graham Filler (R)

Clinton County Board of Commissioners

  • 1st District: Val Vail-Shirey (R)
  • 2nd District: David Pohl (R)
  • 3rd District: Bruce DeLong (R)
  • 4th District: Ken Mitchell (R)
  • 5th District: Bob Showers (R)

Eaton County Board of Commissioners

  • 1st District: Tim Barnes (R)
  • 2nd District: Blake Mulder (R)
  • 3RD District: Terrance Augustine (D)
  • 4th District: Brandon Haskell (D)
  • 13th District: Jim Mott (R)

Ingham County Board of Commissioners

  • 1st District: Randy Maiville (R)
  • 2nd District: Karla Ruest (R)
  • 3rd District: Chris Trubac (D)
  • 6th District: Vic Celentino (D)
  • 7th District: Thomas Morgan (D)
  • 10th District: Gabrielle Lawrence (D)
  • 11th District: Mark Grebner (D)
  • 12th District: Irene Cahill (D)
  • 14th District: Mark Polsdofer (D)

The LRC-PAC’s endorsement process includes a review of a candidate’s past performance, a written questionnaire, and, in some cases, an in-person interview. Only after this process is completed and a vote of the LRC-PAC Board is taken can a candidate be endorsed and be considered for financial support.